Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Who has time

I wish I had more time to cook because now it's go, go, go!

I have at least 50 cookbooks and over 100 cooking related magazines. Not because I am a hoarder or anything (don't ask my husband). No, I keep all of these because I love to actually READ the recipes. Reading about the ingredients, cooking methods, chopping techniques and of course the pictures are always to die for. Off topic, does anyone remember when Food Network Television used to have a competition for the food stylers? Those people who photograph/style food for a living.

Cooking is just one of the many things I wish I had more time to do. Even though it looks like a tornado has gone through the kitchen after I'm done. Thankfully, my darling husband is an awesome cleaner-upper. I highly doubt he likes doing it but, after 15 years together I don't do "neat". Sorry, honey.

Tonight's meal:
Adults - Costco Frozen Cajun Salmon
Oven roasted asparagus
Oven roasted potatoes
Strawberries with Fat-free Cool-whip. (Don't knock the FF Cool-Whip, you don't miss the extra fat)

Kids - Trader Joes Frozen Fish sticks
Oven roasted potatoes
peas & carrots
Yogurt with strawberries

Since it's Tuesday, my hubby goes out bowling. Which means he'll end up eating cheese fries and having at least 2 beers. At least he started off with a balanced diet.

Have a great day ya'll. <--- Shoot, there I go again.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

TV Junkie

I'm not afraid of saying it, even in capital letters...I LOVE TELEVISION

I watch most things, but I stay away from reality television. Once in a while I'll watch the obscure like Redneck Millionaires, RHOA, Virgin Diaries and Dance Moms. Mostly, I love watching real actors - acting. Isn't that why they get the big bucks?

I just jumped on the bandwagon watching Mad Men. Holy shit, where have I been? Sunday nights have been pretty busy for my DVR. The Good Wife, Mad Men, Nurse Jackie, The Big C and Chopped All Stars. Excite, excite.

Do you watch TV? Which day of the week is your favorite? What do you like to watch?

Losing Faith

What does one do when the battle is too much. Now, before anyone goes calling the Psychiatric ward I'm not suicidal. Honestly, I've thought about it. Not in a "I'm going to do it" but thinking about how low someone would have to feel to do it. That's pretty sad, but I digress.

I'm a college student (literally a LIFETIME college student) and through chance, circumstance, and funds I've been prolonging my graduation date. Fast forward a shit load of years, I thought I "found" myself. Honestly, I found an amazing program and courses that have left a mark in life. To help those who didn't have a voice. Ahhhh... to make a change. So, now I'm on a path to finally graduate and I've applied to graduate schools.

I just got my first denial letter. Oh my F'g God! Not only is it a denial letter, but it's the denial letter from the school I wanted the most. The one I wanted so bad, I would clean the floors of the building with my tongue. Yup, wipe that shit clean with my spit. I am heartbroken. Like I lost my mother, father, husband type of hurt.

When I first applied to graduate school people would go around and wished me luck, but mostly people asked..."what's plan B". Seriously, a plan B. I didn't have one. Didn't people realize, I'm not only good at what I am doing, but I was on a path to become an amazing therapist. Journal articles would be written about the progress I was doing with my clients. Don't put baby in the corner type of shit. So, why would I need a plan B. Only losers have an escape route.

Hi, I'm the loser. Pity, party of one.

I'm not the best at praying, but I've done my share. I've put my life in God's hands so many times because the battle in my path and for many others have been strained. But, I'm not sure he's listening to me.

I'm losing faith.

What to do next? Where to go when one's lost their faith?

Friday, April 13, 2012

Hi Ya'll

Hi everyone. Don't really know why I've titled this post "Hi Ya'll". I don't have a Southern drawl, I'm not from the sweet South and I do appreciate quality grammar - even though my spelling sucks (thank heavens for spell check).

I just thought it was a good salutation. So hello everyone out there in the internet world.

This blog is titled "Some of me and some of you" for a couple of reasons. First reason, it's my blog so it'll have my thoughts, feelings, ideas (blah, blah, blah) hence, some of me. Second reason, I'm married and a lot of my thoughts and feelings will be about my marriage. I hope to honestly write about where our marriage has been, where it is and where it's going. Third reason, I do have children and know a LOT of my posts will deal with my children who are an interesting mixture of my husband and myself (some of me and some of you). Finally, I hope to one day get to hear from my readers. Call me out (politely) when I say something you don't agree with or even on things you do understand. Let's talk because I would love to hear from "some of you."

Have a good one,
Bree